fmian77

Katatonia - The Fall Of Hearts as reviewed by fmian77

January 20, 2017
Not sure exactly what pressing I have but I purchased this in Australia from Utopia records. Label code is the same as the one mentioned here.
Big fan of the album after hearing it on YouTube and really wanted a good pressing of some gloomy metal after being dissapointed by the LP of Opeth Damnation. This music deserves a good pressing and I couldn't find any opinions of it online.
Was pretty dissapointed. Doesn't sound as flat as Opeths Damnation, but still rather dull and had me reaching for the equaliser. It's a clean pressing though, and the presentation/artwork is great. But I really want to hear this type of music sound more alive and real. I put an original pressing of The Tea Party - Splendor Solis on after this and immediately felt as if the singer was in front of me in the same room. That's the feeling I want.
Can anyone recommend similar music that has a great record pressing? Thanks.
les-plaisirs-demodes

The Claus Ogerman Orchestra - Soul Searchin' as reviewed by les-plaisirs-demodes

January 20, 2017
edited 12 minutes ago
These instrumental arrangements by Claus Ogerman attempt to transform rock 'n' roll from teen-oriented music into something that has a more lasting interest. Ogerman, who has been one of the most successful arrangers for singers and groups dependent upon the Big Beat, has adapted elements of instrumentation and rhythm from his vocal arrangements to create orchestral treatments that project the same pulsing, insistent rhythms. Even more of the same instrumental sounds are present (notably guitar and organ) but with variety and subtlety that are not usually found in a singer's recordings. In doing this, he has taken advantage of the attractive melodies usually buried in loud, monotonous performances. The tunes get a far better presentation here in performances which derive their effectiveness from Ogerman's imaginative selection of instruments. There is a steady and often fascinating confluence of riffs -by flutes, a brass team, strings, piano, and guitars -that reinforces the rhythmic beat of the tunes without indulging in distracting exaggerations. Meanwhile the melody is passed deftly among the non-riffing elements. These are interesting and catchy performances, suggesting that the Beat has a long and apparently productive life ahead (“Audio Fidelity Magazine”, August 1965, pages 87-88).
nuevo.sol.partido

Charly Garcia - 87-93 as reviewed by nuevo.sol.partido

January 20, 2017
Release name tries to give buyers information in order to make a good decision: songs recorded or released between 1987 and 1993. Nonetheless, this datum is not precise at all. Recordings included in this compilation were released between 1985 and 1991 (from "Tango" to "Tango 4" albums).
A simple but fine compilation by Columbia, personally I would have added "Pasajera en trance" from "Tango (1985)", "Curitas" & "Siempre puedes olvidar" from "Filosofía barata y zapatos de goma (1990)" to have a deeper insight over the period.
EKeane

Torsofuck / Lymphatic Phlegm - Disgusting Gore And Pathology / Polymorphisms To Severe Sepsis In Trauma as reviewed by EKeane

January 20, 2017
Some nice toe tappers on this one. A must for fans of Medical Dictionary Fetishist Metal.
snowbo

Kenny Burrell With Coleman Hawkins - Bluesey Burrell as reviewed by snowbo

January 20, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
Today arrived and in the player - sounds really wonderful and at all very high quality. Love it from first moment on. My version is numbered too. On the outer sleeve is written that there are not more than 1000 copies
saulreggae

The Mighty Abijans - Untamed as reviewed by saulreggae

January 20, 2017
this is a bootleg style?? in every way .. the original is ruff.
timibbitson

The Reen-Machine - Rap-A-Reenie as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Damn i heard she just passed . . . glad i have this to remember her by !
timibbitson

Amin Peck* - Girl On Me as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Richie Havens - Going Back To My Roots (Club Mix-Re-Edit By Mr. K) as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Elkin & Nelson - Jibaro as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Jesse Henderson - I Did It Again as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Jesse Henderson - I Did It Again as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Tony Orlando / Sergio Mendes* - Don't Let Go / I'll Tell You as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Madonna - Mon Hommage A Paris as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Madonna - Mon Hommage A Paris as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Madonna - Mon Hommage A Paris as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Madonna - Mon Hommage A Paris as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Cela - I'm In Love as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Cela - I'm In Love as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Ramona Brooks - I Don't Want You Back as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

George Duke - I Want You For Myself / Party Down as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

George Duke - I Want You For Myself / Party Down as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

George Duke - I Want You For Myself / Party Down as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

Michael Jackson - HIStory World Tour - Seoul 1996 as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !
timibbitson

McKenzie & Gardiner - Songs From Time - The Lost Demos as reviewed by timibbitson

January 20, 2017
Really poor sound quality and it is an illegal item which the artist has taken legal steps to identify the copyright infringer too !