burninhell

Beneath Usual - Tool Box as reviewed by burninhell

April 25, 2017
Four Bangers on this release. digital honey. love this !!!!
wolfgangvonberg

Jamila Woods - HEAVN as reviewed by wolfgangvonberg

April 25, 2017
This was the best album of 2016 and 2017 hasn't given us anything better yet.
ryarobin

Tangerine Dream - Le Parc as reviewed by ryarobin

April 25, 2017
When everyone refers to vapor wave now as some hot commodity. They should check this one out for some retro/futurism.
goat-scrot

Devil's Witches - Velvet Magic as reviewed by goat-scrot

April 25, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
Fucking GREAT Stoner Metal, imagine if you slapped Uncle Acid's best songs into a blender with that groovy debut from Beastmaker.........you are in the right universe. 9/10 EASILY, can't wait to find an lp or cassette of this release.
rons-no.1-records

Leila K With Rob 'N' Raz - Got To Get as reviewed by rons-no.1-records

April 25, 2017
I believe these pictures belong with a US version, not the Canadian version, as required here.
FantomasRagnarok

Division Germania / Macht & Ehre - Hass Schürender Lärm! as reviewed by FantomasRagnarok

April 25, 2017
Im looking for this on Vinyl, let me know if you wanna sell. Thanks!!!
KATYA.CASIO

Hong Kong Counterfeit as reviewed by KATYA.CASIO

April 25, 2017
Hello, I front the band Hong Kong Counterfeit. My Partner and I are deeply disturbed by being listed as "Electroclash act from New York". We have NEVER BEEN ELECTROCLASH, as we started releasing long before that. In fact we have always refused to play any Electroclash events or prticipate in their releases.
Dear Discogs, PLEASE list our genre as: Minimal Electronic, Disco-Punk (Synth-Punk), Synth Pop, Cold Wave, Post-Punk.
Thanks,
HK Counterfeit (Katya Casio & John Langdon)
Mr.Modular

Raime - Tooth as reviewed by Mr.Modular

April 25, 2017
edited 29 minutes ago
So, I've had this record for a year now, and I felt now I can really say what I feel about this album knowing it inside out and the motivations behind it. When I first heard the single "Dead Heat" released out of the blue one day, I was on the fence whether I really would like the new album, I was scared and excited. Terrified that I had waited 3 years for something, anything from Raime and it may not blow me away.

The first album they put out was a masterpiece on mood and sound, and every track felt very dark, intense, and diverse. I will say that it is probably one of the most polished meticulously crafted albums I've heard, so my expectations were sky high before I knew any real information about a follow up. Seeing the reaction to Raime's recent releases (Yally counted), I'm hardly surprised by how divided the fanbase became after they dropped "Tooth". It's almost the exact antithesis of the debut, it's synthetic, small sound palette and extremely minimal structure. Sure, Raime have always been minimal, but the new album really pushed them further in that direction.

Now, for my opinion on the album itself? I was kind of disappointed by my expectations, but because they were just that, I felt it was kind of unfair to judge the album just yet. I let it sink in for a long time, I found myself playing it more and more, really enjoying the very big sub-bass lines, and the very percussive and minimal guitar playing. The live drums add a bit more dimension to some of the tracks, and of course there are some very glassy synths to fill things in just a little. The actual sound of the record also makes a lot of sense in the context of who Raime is as Tom and Joe are very much music nerds with a keen ear for sound. They've expressed their love for Dub, Grime, and Albini style Post-Hardcore in interviews and DJ sets, and it totally makes sense that this is how the record would sound. I have no doubt in my mind that the duo worked for years to perfect the formula that they wanted for this album, so I think it's slightly puzzling that a lot of critics of the album feel that it wasn't done with much forethought.

I really do love this album, and I still play it at least once a week or every other week. I can't really explain why I like it so much other than that I really love the actual production of the album and the extremely minimalistic songs. The lack of diversity was definitely something I didn't care for too much, but after awhile that faded away and was certain that "Tooth" was something I really (really) liked. This along with Demdike Stare's "Wonderland" was one of my favorite releases last year, so give that a chance as well if you hadn't heard it!

(~.~)
wipster

Roy Loney - Rock And Roll Dance Party With... Roy Loney as reviewed by wipster

April 25, 2017
Love this album, highly overlooked IMHO. Just great rock and rolling dancin' music by Roy Loney the original (and best) singer of the Flamin' Groovies. I love all of Roy's albums, but this might be my favorite.
maicco.ferreira

Antonio Carlos E Jocafi - Mudei De Idéia as reviewed by maicco.ferreira

April 25, 2017
Holy shit. It sounds fantastic even with a quiet cartridge/stylus!
No surface noise at all and it has a wonderful mastering job. Buy it!
FullmetalKBk

Danzig & Doyle (3) - Misfits Revenge as reviewed by FullmetalKBk

April 25, 2017
This really kicks ass. Love the packaging. The video quality and audio quality are fantastic! \m/
dsyn2spin

Dub & Run - Sax Shaker / Open Your Heart as reviewed by dsyn2spin

April 25, 2017
Both tracks on this one are blatant reworks of 1992 era UK hardcore.
Most notably the classic XL release "Dub War" by Dance Conspiracy.
There is absolutely nothing new or original sounding here at all.
And it does not deviate from that formula one bit.
So it's essentially nostalgic sounding, but enjoyable nevertheless.
The B side is better IMO
sollym5446

Shriekback - Big Night Music as reviewed by sollym5446

April 25, 2017
edited about 6 hours ago
This one still sounds just as fresh today as it did the day it landed in shops around the world. Major label release but no compromise with the music. The whole LP is brilliant but for me The Reptiles & I is the killer.....I'm a sucker for stripped back music and that one features a strong amped up bass guitar and Congos essentially for the most part.....LOVE it!
Absolutely one of the greatest UK bands of all-time. If you're looking at delving into their material then this album and the Priests & Kanibals comp are perfect starting points.
PsychoTheGoon

The Korgis - The Korgis as reviewed by PsychoTheGoon

April 25, 2017
"Young 'n' Russian" is absolutely the jam! Worth getting on all accounts!
royhas2012

Slugbug - Pointless Journey as reviewed by royhas2012

April 25, 2017
Pseudonym Thunder (Plastic Waffle 2013)

Mostly ruined using all the self-performing on musical instruments by Paul D. Millar himself and the audiences perhaps, didn’t know how talented this Austin, Texas guy using the Slugbug alias for the solo Alternative Rock weirdness project filling with strange beats and awkward tempos but reaches the depths of someone’s artistic compassion and honorable towards how Indie actions like this sometimes can bypassing the selfishness ego and replaced it with more treatments along the mixing of dueling ideas or just smashing them to the wall as unaware melodies that driving the moods away from where it is belonging before. Welcome to My Room, Bars & Tone, Inexplicably Hilarious or Computers Again sliding off from grace to the free-falling sounds down to jerkyland but nothing can mock Alternative Music much since it’s being born to the world of Rock cause it always carrying the distinctive mark for revolving applied sooner or later.
PaulHeaton

Vini Reilly - The Sporadic Recordings as reviewed by PaulHeaton

April 25, 2017
Such a great album ....as I listen to it . Enough x
-martin-

Philip Glass - Buddha Machine as reviewed by -martin-

April 25, 2017
Such a price for such a cheapy sound.. Do never plug it in your hi-fi system or any headphone to avoid tears...
emjiisthebest

Emji as reviewed by emjiisthebest

April 25, 2017
Technique : 100% / Emotion : 100% / Power : 100% / Shades : 100%, absolutely unique and wonderfull artist !!
Booj1Boy

The B-52's - The B-52's as reviewed by Booj1Boy

April 25, 2017
Probably a 90s reissue. For a standard Ferric tape with no Dolby encoding, this actually sounds pretty good, with the expected tape hiss of course.
TENSE2000

Johnny Dynell And New York 88 - Jam Hot as reviewed by TENSE2000

April 25, 2017
Strange that this is still a 1.99 find...classic NYC boogie disco electro funk crossover! What I wouldn't give to club in NYC circa 81-84...
AUTOMATIXROMANTIX

Ufocus - Guidance For The Puzzled as reviewed by AUTOMATIXROMANTIX

April 25, 2017
UFOCUS : Killer LP and artwork, excellent (electronic if it needs to be said) music that trancends genres. The beats and rythms literally seem to breath, the man certainly knows how to work with his synths, talk about a man machine interface.
bobby1972

Smack (5) - Live In Helsinki 1986 as reviewed by bobby1972

April 25, 2017
Great songs, sounds good. Classic Smack at their best. Get this!
Bolle-Gabber

B2S Records as reviewed by Bolle-Gabber

April 25, 2017
Where Are B2SCD013 & B2SCD014 ?? Do They Exist? i Need To Know