ICHBINZACHI

Tommy Young - My Life Is Wonderful (Extended Disco Dance Version) as reviewed by ICHBINZACHI

November 21, 2017
It's a real good Eurodisco Record - but why the producers called the B-Side "Extended Disco Dance Version" is a riddle for me and maybe a big mistake from them. The B-Side is just an "voiceless" Instrumental of this Song and not more
JustieBoo

David Axelrod - David Axelrod as reviewed by JustieBoo

November 21, 2017
Mr. Axelrod once again shows his value in his music is worth the high prices. The opening track sets up the rest of the album of what seemingly is foreign ground for Axelrod. With inclusion of rap in his original jazz, the record has quality that is strange for a composer such as him. Interestingly enough, the liner notes have been done by DJ Shadow (Joshua Davis) and relives his amazing influence in the funk, soul, and eventually hip-hop ground. "Crystal Ball" definitely has a Phil Spector vibe to it and the entire album has leeks of bassoon; an odd character in music has created one album you should not miss.
alpcelebi93

Terra Ferma - Floating / The Scream as reviewed by alpcelebi93

November 21, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
Both of the tracks are masterpiece!
Floating is one my favorite trance tracks, and it is one of the most complex trance tracks ever made. It incorporates lot of different layers, the track constantly evolves and changes, offering a blissful and hypnotic journey. Amazing!
ConemanTheBongbarian

Ex-Craw - Extinct as reviewed by ConemanTheBongbarian

November 21, 2017
annoying that half of these songs are mine and i have not been credited for them. never knew this was released. lame moves!
Housem3ister

Kontor Records as reviewed by Housem3ister

November 21, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
Really good releases at the beginning years of the label. But since a decade it's gone shabby. Mostly mainstream, uninspiring EDM stuff in the recent discography. So pick up some classics from it but leave the new stuff behind.
betadron

Boris Blank - Electrified as reviewed by betadron

November 21, 2017
To get one thing out first: I think, Boris Blank is one of the most innovative, most important creators of electronic music, not to mention he's a true pioneer in his art. As a longtime fan of his work in YELLO I was pretty excited when I learned about this kickstarter project, even though the trade-off was spending hell of a lot of money if you were "just" in it for the music, not so much the extraordinary packaging. The "Hands On Yello" project back in the mid-nineties already gave a glimpse of the vast musical archives of Mr Blank, so why should I care about costly media, vinyls, cassettes, box sets, when Blank unveils his huge treasure of music?

Speaking of which, my reception of "Electrified" was rather lukewarm. Not because of the overall quality of the tracks presented in this compilation, but because I expected a rather different direction, maybe a more historical approach. The majority of the tracks feel and sound like material mainly from the "Zebra" era of Yello, when the Swiss masters leaned heavily into a more dance-able, modern approach (same goes with "Pocket Universe" and its successors). While I won't deny the historicity of 20 year old material, I was rather interested in the older stuff, when Yello were just starting out with "Solid Pleasure" and "Claro Que Si". While you get a little bit of that with tracks like "Delta Boots", for me personally it's just not enough.

In the end, "Electrified" feels more like an exploration into 90s-Yello b-side material, rather than the true gems of the past, when Yello were totally unique, pioneering electronic music like no-one else (even better than Kraftwerk, if I may commit this act of heresy).
Still - it's a great collection of tracks, that even in it's overwhelming magnitude feels at least two sizes too small.
Wizhard

Rodriguez Jr. - Baobab as reviewed by Wizhard

November 21, 2017
Monticello clearly takes the top prize of this great album !
TheGuyWithSunglasses

Average Boy - Watching You as reviewed by TheGuyWithSunglasses

November 21, 2017
nice double sider . . . . . . . recommend
ruminas

Lustmord - Kraków (October 22 2010) as reviewed by ruminas

November 21, 2017
To hear Lustmord’s music as loud as it was on this night – and so to experience the full extent of the sub-bass that girds and grounds it – was to realise how inadequate the term “ambient” is to describe it.At times the low-end assault was such that I was hearing the rafters of the building shaking more than I was the actual tones.
Kiran Sande / FACT
joroemetalmickey

Neil Young - After The Gold Rush as reviewed by joroemetalmickey

November 21, 2017
Whatever the reason is?! This Reissue sounds fantastic!
I compared it to my German original first press!
dobski

The American Music Consort - Sentimental Songs Of The Mid- Nineteenth Century as reviewed by dobski

November 21, 2017
The first song on side A is hauntingly beautiful. Recommended.
Housem3ister

United Friends Of Funk - The Millenium Boogie as reviewed by Housem3ister

November 21, 2017
last sale 2 years ago, maybe sellers should check their prices on that? Also the record hasn't the best audio / pressing quality
Cardia1

Hughes De Courson - Lux Obscura as reviewed by Cardia1

November 21, 2017
There's a good selection of strong themes here, all tracks are satisfying, some more than others, "Muort' Oramai" is my favorite music in this release.
Cardia1

Vangelis - L'Apocalypse Des Animaux as reviewed by Cardia1

November 21, 2017
The first Album by Vangelis , turns out to be one of his best release in my opinion,this a very beautiful and touching production, tracks are also melancholic and relaxing. the melodies are strong. Excellent work!
maroko

Xhei - The Hypnotist Ep as reviewed by maroko

November 21, 2017
This is the producer's break through release and unquestionably a piece of work that opened the doorway to the European market. As good as his tracks are, it is the Christian Wunsch remix that is the key cut here. You have heard it played out all over, if you've been around techno gigs during the past year or so. Huge, huge slabs of descending raucous synths, propelled by hammering beats, and a superb, levitating bass line. The damage factor is immense, slightly mitigated by the much needed breaks. These intervals however, are only there to accentuate the upcoming outbursts, as each drop is deadlier than the last one.
An absolutely flawless exercise in hard, invigorating, techno that will simply obliterate the dance floor. I first heard it dropped by Paula Temple and had no rest for weeks until I found out what it was.
Recently, I heard the man Christian Wunsch drop it live on the 10th of November during Belgrade's The Hard Code Weekend, and you cannot believe how much does a stack of towering Funktion Ones enhance the aural experience.
As for the remaining tracks, they are all mighty fine pieces of booming artillery that will live up to their task.
But it's the Spanish veteran who absolutely steals the show here with a reckless wrecking ball of a banger that shamelessly pounds away with pure, menacing energy we all know techno can deliver. Absolutely essential for the DJ aiming to tear the roof off.
Topobot

Axel Le Baron, Kurbatov - Here & Now as reviewed by Topobot

November 20, 2017
Usually, when I'm talking about an album, I try my hardest to not gush about it like a mindless fanboy.
But this album...THIS ALBUM.

Nearly every track is unbelievable and full of SOUL. I am shocked this album went unnoticed by even the French house crowd, who have in the past shown great appreciation for ALB's singles "Music is the Danger" and "Primary School". From the nostalgic vibes of "Here and Now" to the strongly romantic "Arpeggio", this entire album is absolutely top notch; save for "Menace", which would be absolutely fantastic if not for the overly long NWA sample that kills the romantic mood of this album.
In fact, that's a word that I would use to describe this album; "romantic". There is an extremely emotional part of this album that I haven't felt from very many French house albums at all, except for the likes of Daft Punk's Discovery. I can't even explain where it comes from or HOW ALB & Kurbatov did it; they just did it and did it EXTREMELY well. I would be surprised to hear about another French house album that pulls this off just as well - if not better - than this one does.

I was stunned when I first came across this album and I'm still stunned by it even to this very day. Buy it, you won't regret it.

Highlights: The entire album. Seriously.
mobbthy

201 (5) - Who Callin' Da Shotz as reviewed by mobbthy

November 20, 2017
all 201 album's are the best stuff to ever drop outta memphis! 5 star shit!!
mobbthy

201 (5) - 2 Deep N Da Game as reviewed by mobbthy

November 20, 2017
all 201 album's are the best stuff to ever drop outta memphis! 5 star shit!!
maroko

Dyad (3) - Irrotational Vortices as reviewed by maroko

November 20, 2017
Blindingly good release. All four tracks are dance floor fuel of the highest caliber. The A side packs two mad blasts of chaos which, in my opinion, apex on Purge with an all-systems-go-mad climax erupting after the hair raising build up.
The energy level is on a constantly high tip, and the mobile structure of the tracks gives them immense replay value. Meaning, these are pieces to get the body moving, no questions asked, but Dyad have already built a solid reputation for crafting tunes that surpass the solid loop anchored by shredding 4x4 thrusts approach to club designated cuts.
More importantly, they've shunned the whole "hey, let's plod to infinity" drivel that seems to plague techno at times, and aim straight at the heart. These sounds are hard, but not cheesy, layered, but not naive, functional, but not shallow.
Flip the record over, and you have Salvage, with its mischievous echoes meandering in and out of the audio field.
Extrinsic tends to hit the breaks, but it's only due to the previous cuts' ridiculous intensity. With its syncopated loop, and tight percussion drops, it's a rather fitting end to an all around impeccable techno feast.
Dyad is currently one of the safest (and finest) bets you can place your money on. Music wise that is. Christian Wunsch's Tsunami Records imprint was, and still is, a platform for enduring hard techno. The release schedule is erratic, but the quality is always there. This is no exception.
In a nutshell, you have four majestic techno workouts that are a solid cut or two above the current competition. Indispensable for techno jocks though.
Palindrone

Fallbeil - Rolling Dutch as reviewed by Palindrone

November 20, 2017
The Fallbeil duo are quickly establishing themselves as a formidable pair inhabiting the weirder corner of the electronic music spectrum like some form of peculiar fungus. This is yet another release from them that eludes straightforward classification. An essential pick for the 12 minute raw, acidic headfuck of 'Rolling Dutch'.
bimster14

The Winkies - The Winkies as reviewed by bimster14

November 20, 2017
I'm guessing Peter 'Sleazy" Christopherson, from TG, Psychic TV and Coil fame had a hand in the album art.
HighwireDays

Super E.S.P. - Super E.S.P. as reviewed by HighwireDays

November 20, 2017
"Everything Seems Prescribed" brings a wickedly minimalistic funk to your midsection. Truly the ill sh*t. The rest of the EP is decent. Too bad this group never recorded a full-length.
garbanzokid

שוטי הנבואה - שוטי הנבואה as reviewed by garbanzokid

November 20, 2017
Easily one of the best bands out of Israel ever
WingKongExchange

Lee Hazlewood - Requiem For An Almost Lady as reviewed by WingKongExchange

November 20, 2017
Pressing quality of my copy was tip-top. No defects, exceptional sound. In terms of the album, one of Lee's best. And hands down, the best damn break-up/divorce record ever made. George Jones would be proud/envious ;)
WingKongExchange

The Stallion - The Dark Side Of The Wall as reviewed by WingKongExchange

November 20, 2017
If this is a tribute, it's definitely pushing the boundaries of what it means to honor someone in song. It's total fucking chaos, as would be expected. It's minimal, it's occasionally big, it's a testament to bat-shit dedication. I love it, i'm confused by it. A+ all the way :)