sunshine-recorder

Fred (192) - Loverman / Hollywood Rolling as reviewed by sunshine-recorder

May 22, 2017
probably the best house record to be released this year - calling it now
aidanhunt

Kanye West - Late Registration as reviewed by aidanhunt

May 22, 2017
Let me be the first to answer my own question. This is one of my ABSOLUTE favourite rap albums ever, and as a lover of vinyl, I was incredibly disappointed by the sound of the original pressing of Late Registration. Today, I was at a little record shop, and I spotted a brand new copy of LR with the "made in CZECH REPUBLIC" sticker, and I was excited because I realized I was holding the 2016 pressing that was supposed to be much superior to the original 2005 issue. Needless to say, I am SO glad I brought this copy home with me. There's no comparison, people. This pressing is a HUGE Improvement. If you're a fan of this album and want a Pressing that does it justice, get this one. 5 stars
AnimalDan

Joël Crapel as reviewed by AnimalDan

May 22, 2017
Bass Gt. and Prod. on CRA1000 "BAD STUFF- Paperbackwriter/I Got Time
DJNORTHENER

No Artist - Jungle as reviewed by DJNORTHENER

May 22, 2017
Yes but Sasha used to get his own acetates cut of things he only had on CD or did his own edits of. He was a late starter playing CDs and only jumped on board when the CDJ1000s got good. I doubt he used to cart a large cd player to gigs in the early nighties and a lot of mixers didn't have a digital input then it was just phono for vinyl.
AnimalDan

Bad Stuff - Paperback Writer / I Got Time as reviewed by AnimalDan

May 22, 2017
Ok then, never mind...! Thanks for replying... All the best...! ;)
Henbka

Hurts - Stay as reviewed by Henbka

May 22, 2017
The Groove Armada Remix is s u p e r.
Crijevo

Jeanette (2) as reviewed by Crijevo

May 22, 2017
In recent years, I got alarmed by a friend who accidentally discovered he had a few records by the female vocalist who turned out to be no other than THE voice singing gorgeously on "Come Here My Love" (a darkly bittersweet rendition of a Van Morrison classic from This Mortal Coil's second longplayer "Filigree & Shadow"). Not that long ago, Mojo offered an interesting featurette based on close contributors' recollection, and to an extent - hearsay, of who Jeanette was or still is; a passionate jazzy voice labeled "warrior soul" - and a person passionately missing for ages now from the spotlight (although the "spotlight" in terms of her mere few albums and singles seemed already obscured at her prime, even when she (hesitantly) agreed to appear on the aforementioned TMC album).

From her modest batch of singles and albums, Jeanette remains a hidden gem that will continue to tackle the most curious of listeners, eventually provoking the music world to consider saving her oeuvre from obscurity with proper re-release editions. Be it electronic backing or jazzy calm with a touch of chamber-like piano, the minimalism of it speaks volumes!
acrogers11

Japa Habilidoso - Funk Do Sindicalismo / Agronomia Setorial as reviewed by acrogers11

May 22, 2017
Drifting percussion, booming kicks, and general lo-fi goodness. Japa is wet as hell
bungabunga

Duran Duran - Live At Odeon as reviewed by bungabunga

May 22, 2017
If you listen to this disc, recorded live, it presents a discrete sound quality.
Geeooo

Various - Pool as reviewed by Geeooo

May 22, 2017
I'll just give 5 stars to this one just for Brainwaves alone !!!
dub_e_72

Katana - Put Your House In Order / Sexual Intimidation as reviewed by dub_e_72

May 22, 2017
very rare ! ! ! this track was an huge hit on the belgium scenes and clubs as at the villa, extreme, boccaccio life, with a large support from dj's like paul van dyk, phi-phi, or sasha !
MrTufkut

Various - All New Mixes as reviewed by MrTufkut

May 22, 2017
An excellent Remix EP with tracks from '94 and early '95 given the 'B.T.' treatment. The OC remix stands out here, although that's my preference, with all the tracks complimenting the vocals. It's release being mid '95 with not much information beyond the sticker on it's front, I'd be interested in confirmation of it being produced by Braintax (he could also tell us how many were pressed up too!). A MUST have for any Classic HipHop/Golden Era collector.
...(", )
FUNK1TUP201735

The Butterfield Blues Band* - East-West as reviewed by FUNK1TUP201735

May 22, 2017
A close friend introduced me to the Paul Butterfield Blues Band East-West album shortly after its 1966 release and let me borrow it for a while. I was about 14 or 15 years young then. It was very progressive not just for blues, but generally and incorporated so many styles and genres e.g. blues, rock, jazz, eastern music, etc. and such a wonderful presentation, virtuosity and group dynamic from these fine musicians. I'm very eclectic with my music. This recording is timeless--one of my all time favorites. Everyone I know, whatever age who loves good music, I have them listen to this.
nihilator77

Prong - Cleansing as reviewed by nihilator77

May 22, 2017
I love this album, I owned it as a teen and during that period this album and the crow original soundtrack were 2 of the most amazing albums I constantly played. Cleansing is just so raw and full of vital energized rage it is relentless. The slower songs like Test, not of this earth and one outnumbered are all very good as well. Another worldly advice, Whose fist, Snap your fingers, Cut rate, and outro chapter One outnumbered make such an amazing side A. Side B is no less innocent though arranged with a more subtle pace. The Music on this numbered MOV edition sounds incredible. I feel like I'm hearing it again for the second time ever. Not really sure why this page lists the color as red as it is more of a transparent Fish Guts Pink "Salmon", as it is themed in fish guts seems suitable. In all my metal and industrial thrash music experiences...there is NOTHING like Prong and NOTHING like Cleansing...NOTHING.
DJSi6

Lotus - Within Or Without You as reviewed by DJSi6

May 22, 2017
Definitely one of the most beautiful and amazing trance tracks I've ever heard! This release has the best versions.
ian_s

Midas Featuring Sunset Regime - Waiting For Gold / Break On Thru (Remix) as reviewed by ian_s

May 22, 2017
Isn't 'Break On Thru' just another remix of 'Groove Control'?
DJSi6

Bosstune - My Thang as reviewed by DJSi6

May 22, 2017
This track is awesome! This release has got the best radio edit too!
DjNovaNovaPlanet

Hampshire* and Foat* - Galaxies Like Grains Of Sand as reviewed by DjNovaNovaPlanet

May 22, 2017
As Athens Of The North is a name which is specializing to reissue old funk and soul music, as far as I know, I was totally surprised when I realize that this album wasn’t an old release but a new recording. Here on ‘’Galaxies Like Grains Of Sand’’ Greg Foat and Warren Hampshire collaboration gave us something timeless, the old way analogue recordings and its warm sound reflects the magic of something that can’t easily categorized. Like a galaxy exist in the known to us universe ‘’Galaxies Like Grains Of Sand’’ and its cimenatic jazz stands in harmony and love between folk, soul and dozen of beyond genres. Me, while I was listening to it I found the magic that I’m searching always to categorise something as a part of the undefinined Balearic collection of mine. May Guassian Curve sounds like this if they were jazz musicians. Highly recommended, one of the best releases of the year so far.
zentao1

David Mancuso - The Loft - Volume Two as reviewed by zentao1

May 22, 2017
I have Vol 1 as well. I would rate these more than 5 stars if I could since they are amazing pieces of history. Pressings are perfect and the booklet is great. Only downside is that the ink (probably vegetable based) used for printing tends to get moldy very easily - keep an eye on them!
TopRanking

Mikey Melody - Ragamuffin Sound as reviewed by TopRanking

May 22, 2017
Mikey Melody’s tribute to all sound systems with ‘Ragamuffin Sound’ with extra respect to the resident heavyweight Black Scorpio.
Oscarbear84

Saile - In The End as reviewed by Oscarbear84

May 22, 2017
Got my copy from Smallville, I am impressed, great pressing, nice work from Saile, love the map.ache remix too!
zentao1

David Mancuso - The Loft as reviewed by zentao1

May 22, 2017
This is an amazing piece of history. The musical is great and the package is really good - perfect pressings and the booklet is very good.
rastaloveint

Burning Spear / Sound Demension Band* - Door Peeper / Soul Shack as reviewed by rastaloveint

May 22, 2017
On My issue it says in hand writing Roland Alphonso , Sound Demension Band is fully crossed out . Purchased at Coxsone's.
giantreptile

Positive Centre - Reassembly as reviewed by giantreptile

May 22, 2017
Dark and pulsing grooves; at home in the Goth scene as much as a tasteful club. excellent mastering.
modernkick

Mando Diao - Bring 'Em In as reviewed by modernkick

May 22, 2017
To be a bootleg, the sound isn´t so bad, but the cover is really poor