goncalobcunha69

Arcturus (2) - Sideshow Symphonies as reviewed by goncalobcunha69

January 17, 2017
On this remaster, did they fix the manufacturing errors present on 1st press editions: "Due to a manufacturing error, enhanced content does not work. There's also some mastering errors, causing tracks II & VIII having a lower sound and a glitch between tracks II & III."

Thanks.
Stuck_In_1992

Surgeon - Fabric 53 as reviewed by Stuck_In_1992

January 17, 2017
I'm not crazy about the dubstep bit in the middle or the lame cover art but everything else was as I would expect from the guy who made minimal techno more popular then jungle in New Jersey.
FL3TCH86

Mari Boine - Vuoi Vuoi Me (Henrik Schwarz Remix) / The Shadow (Kohib Remix) as reviewed by FL3TCH86

January 17, 2017
Incredibly intense record! This remix was huge around 2006-2009 period, seeing Henrik himself play it at Southport Weekender, Fabric, amongst other places was pretty special.
bigbudukks

The Allman Brothers Band - The Allman Brothers Band At Fillmore East as reviewed by bigbudukks

January 17, 2017
I finally played this for the first time and I don't need a first pressing. The clarity, tonal balance, punch and soundstage on this pressing are stunning. Bernie Grundman did a fine job mastering this. I've heard the first pressing is excellent but with something this good why bother looking for one?
sambonerocknroll

Johnny Thunders - Hurt Me as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
Non-electric JT! Not the best singer and not the best guitarist. It's about style and that's what he had. RIP!
sambonerocknroll

The Damned - Damned Damned Damned as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
This album cooks! Stab your back! FISH! YES! I can do without the filler song, 'Feel the pain'!
sambonerocknroll

The Clash - The Clash as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
The 1st album is the best! PUNK '77! I can't get into anything else after that!
sambonerocknroll

The Damned - Music For Pleasure as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
The album cover alone probably killed this killer album of some of the best material as a 2nd album. Ahead of their time with an 80's style album cover. This album rocks!
sambonerocknroll

Buzzcocks With Howard Devoto - Spiral Scratch as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
I had this on cd many years ago. 25+ years later and I find it on vinyl. So much cooler with Devoto! Boredom, boredom!!!
sambonerocknroll

Buzzcocks - Time's Up as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
One of first pop punk bands I'd heard before I knew what pop punk was! Buzzcocks rule! Boredom! Orgasm Addict! YES!
sambonerocknroll

Hank Williams - The Hank Williams Treasury as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
Perfect boxed set of Hank! The only Hank I'll listen to. Well, maybe some Hank Snow.
sambonerocknroll

The Yardbirds - Shapes Of Things - The Yardbirds Story as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
The Best and all the rest of the Yardbirds! I wasn't always the biggest fan of them, but have learned to appreciate them more and more. Had 3 of the best guitarists of all time: Clapton, Beck and Page.
sambonerocknroll

The Cult - Electric as reviewed by sambonerocknroll

January 17, 2017
My fav from The Cult! This album cooks! If I was to get one other album, it would be, 'Love'. But this is must have!!!
NY_Club_Classics

Codek - Tim Toum / Closer as reviewed by NY_Club_Classics

January 17, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
All-time classic killer NY City "avant-garde" down-tempo afro/alternative funk that was only played by DJ Raul Soto at Gotham West and then at Broadway 96 (after they moved there) and DJ Kenny Carpenter at Bonds. They got it because they went to Downtown Records on Worth St, the ONLY record store in NY City that got this record when it was released. Very limited production run. Downtown Records only got a few small batches of this record and then it disappeared. Vinyl Mania and other top record stores did not get this record. Tim Toum is one of the unforgettable records that started the "webo" craze - gas pants, suede "webo" boots, customized/cut-up T-shirts and sweatshirts, "webo" name buckle belts and Vietnamese-style straw hats, along with Witness The Change by Pete Shelley, The Natives Are Restless by Ray Martinez, Tarzan & Jane by The Meteors, Summing Up (instrumental) by Electric Mind, Come Let Me Love You (instrumental) by Jeanette Lady Day and much more... Dale Webo Y'all!
therosamilla

Dieta (2) / Jean Baptiste (5) - Lovely Way EP as reviewed by therosamilla

January 17, 2017
Sex Tags Mania warehouse find! This might not be one of those popular ware house finds you run into these days, but still, from a storage of a friend of a friend this got dug out. Almost brand new but never sold in any amount - a German-French(?) 12'' as great as the summer. Straight to the B; you know that track you hear, not on any given Sunday, but only the exeptionally good ones, the track that sonically floats around, though maybe being to euphoric, still gathers everybody in the area to some sort of silent agreement of peace. Usually these musical pieces are found as single items on flee markets if you're a proper digger or have straight out beginners luck. Maybe the world has turned up side down, because this beauty has German lyrics (with an instrumental following).
Hodgepodge-Soup

Data Discs as reviewed by Hodgepodge-Soup

January 17, 2017
Excellent business. Audio quality and production quality is outstanding on all LP's I purchased.They have extremely friendly and responsive customer service to boot. Perfect!

Looking forward to future releases!
treesha

Johan Lindell - Ghost Rider as reviewed by treesha

January 17, 2017
On CD this album was released in 1993 as "Ghost Dancer (The Lost Album, 1985)" at Slick Records with two different tracks as bonus for single Alla Vill - Lova.
apuccio98

The Black Keys - A Long Way From Home: Live in Belfort, France as reviewed by apuccio98

January 17, 2017
Very good pressing. No skips or pops which is nice compared to some unofficial releases I have.

Picked it up from my local store and was definitely worth the price. Contains all of the Black Keys best songs which is nice if you don't have enough to buy all of their major releases. Great record, great performance.
OrionsLine

Panacea (2) - Ink Is My Drink as reviewed by OrionsLine

January 17, 2017
An absolute must-have album for fans of underground hip-hop. My favorite tracks on here are "Steel Kites" and "Pulse".
vehscle

John Donald Robb* / Jack Behrens / David Gilbert / Alice Shields - 13 as reviewed by vehscle

January 17, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
A smattering of modern classical and composition dating from 1976 America on Max Schubel’s Opus One label.

The record opens with a version of Alice Shields’ excellent Wildcat Songs. Composed in 1966, it features piccolo and soprano, and while its vocal elements tend towards the operatic, think less Verdi and more Domenico Guaccero as an apt comparison for both its minimal palette and interplay between instrument and voice. According to later literature by Shields, the libretto is based on a ‘Native American shaman’s poem’ – not unusual in an era of academic music that was fascinated with both rekindling spirituality in classical music and addressing its rather stolid politics. Notably, both Shields and Gilbert asked not to produce liner notes alongside their compositions on this record.

This is followed by a pair of works by David Gilbert, Poem VII for oboe (played by Humbert Lucarelli) and the beautiful Poem VI for the alto flute (played by Gilbert himself). The latter is quite similar to Wildcat Songs in its density and texture. However, the former veers slightly further afield into extended technique and is all the better for it. The oboe’s dual nature as a rather nasal reed instrument and a much more tonally pure woodwind is deftly explored, occasionally complemented by very pointed breathing and grunts.

On side B, we start with Jack Behrens performance of his own work, The Feast Of Life from 1975. Quite different in character from Gilbert and Shields, it plays seemingly familiar snippets of pop melody alongside alternating lengths of heavy dissonance across a very wide dynamic range – perhaps owing as much to the (what could by then safely be called) traditions of free jazz as classical.

Lastly is John Donald Robb’s Dialogue. Perhaps better known as J.D. Robb, his latter work with the moog on a handful of records was either very well received or unduly fetishized, depending on your take on early analogue synth music (I lean towards the latter). At any rate, speaking of jazz traditions, its structural composition is of particular note:

“The piano part was first recorded on one track of a two track tape. This was then played back and, as he listened, the composer recorded on the other track his improvised guitar comments or replies.”

The recording quality is rather shoddy, and the dynamics of the resulting piece quite tinny. However, there are sections where instead of ‘replying’ to the piano, the guitar seems to just barely preempt it. This play on improvisation, allowing his familiarity with his own prior composition seep into his performance, provides some amusing moments.
LeonardoA

Colosseum - Colosseum Live as reviewed by LeonardoA

January 17, 2017
Colosseum is a British rock band that as one of the bands responsible for the development of progressive rock is considered.
The band was formed in 1968 by drummer Jon Hiseman, tenor sax player Dick Heckstall-Smith and bass player Tony Reeves. All three had previously played in John Mayall's Bluesbreakers. In addition, Dave Greenslade (organist) and Jim Roche (guitar) recruited.
John Hiseman recruited Chris Farlowe so Clempson could focus on playing guitar.
LeonardoA

Alquin - The Mountain Queen as reviewed by LeonardoA

January 17, 2017
Alquin was in the 1970s, one of the best rated groups of Netherlands. The prog-rock of the group is also heard in England and the Delft group is The album The Mountain Queen (1973) on with the producer of Deep Purple. Yet it remains an international breakthrough and at the end of the 1970s the group falls apart.
LeonardoA

Alquin - Marks as reviewed by LeonardoA

January 17, 2017
Alquin was in the 1970s, one of the best rated groups of Netherlands. The prog-rock of the group is also heard in England and the Delft group is The album The Mountain Queen (1973) on with the producer of Deep Purple.
ruminas

Various - Speedcore Terror Worldwide as reviewed by ruminas

January 17, 2017
a very solid doublepack, a bunch of these tracks featured in the now legendary speedcore inferno compilation. thinking speedcore? then you must own this.
LeonardoA

Fleetwood Mac - The Chain (Selections From 25 Years) as reviewed by LeonardoA

January 17, 2017
The story of Fleetwood Mac is one of endless changes in style and occupation. They were in the 1960s, led by Peter Green and Mick Fleetwood, one of the most original British blues bands. Later they grew out to suppliers of a polished, masterly LA sound, with which they conquered the American airwaves in the 1970s. Their most successful album, Rumours from 1977 – that was made by the best known occupation of the Group: Fleetwood, John McVie, Christine McVie, Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks – is one of the best-selling albums of all time. Although they never really failed to match that success, the band during the three decades that followed on irregular basis and plates, in different configurations.