bartleby777

Ole Jensen And His Music - Chappell Recorded Music as reviewed by bartleby777

March 26, 2017
Like many albums from Chappell under the Ole Jensen name, this has a great variety of styles depending on the different composers' ideas. A2 is run-of-the-mill scat bossa, A5 is a peculiar small group running jazz tune with organ, guitar and vibraphone, and A8 is more organ jazz with a nice flute solo, file under: blues boogie swing. B3 is where the scat voice magic of the legendary Barbara Moore really comes to the forefront, in a great piece of pastoral and serene atmosphere worthy of the track's title. B6 is another rather cool organ roller, but it never gets really smoky or hot. The last track (B9) is showtime big band jazz with a decided swinging London feel to it. All in all an album with some charm, but not a must-have. And I declare the winners to be: A8, B3 and B9.
Thetheo

Various - Workshop 04 as reviewed by Thetheo

March 26, 2017
Hype is a fun thing you. People get all excited for 10 minutes tracks that sound like locked groove, sell their mother to get a piece of a poorly crafted track thrown into a giegling compilation or instant buy without listening any record with a romanian name on it.

In the meanwhile, you can buy untold masterpieces like move d's and fragment one on this. Sample from herbie mann's cajun moon perfectly popping at off beat moments that create a unique twist to it. Bassline funky as hell, and move d's usual perfect use of percussive sounds. Less is more.
adieudo

Magma (6) - Ẁurdah Ïtah as reviewed by adieudo

March 26, 2017
This record has a very nice sound, sharp and tight !
Chalkers

Porcupine Tree - Demo as reviewed by Chalkers

March 26, 2017
What you'll really want this collection of 'Stupid Dream' era demos for is the track 'I fail'; currently unavailable anywhere else (officially). 'Even Less', actually has even more than the final version that made it onto Stupid Dream and has vastly different lyrics too; this track can also be found of the limited edition '4 Chords That Made a Million' single. 'Disappear' never made it onto the final album either and to confuse matters more, there are numerous versions floating about; all vastly different and equally great. There is a bootleg copy of this ultra rare cassette (50 copies) compiled onto CD under the title 'Ambulance Chasers'; I can't say I've ever heard it, but certainly a CD release is favourable to cassette for many people despite the sound quality of these demos actually being pretty good. I'd expect that one day these tracks will feature on a deluxe Stupid Dream anniversary edition in the future - may have to wait a few years mind.
Chalkers

Steven Wilson - Vapour Trail Lullaby as reviewed by Chalkers

March 26, 2017
Beautiful standalone obscurity hidden among SW's vast catalogue of works. At nearly 10 minutes in length, with original artwork and a little bit of track history written on the back, I'd say it's work checking out if, like me, you are a SW fanatic.
ashey1

The KVB - Immaterial Visions Remixes as reviewed by ashey1

March 26, 2017
No New Beat here...unless someone has gone and changed the defintion...
bartleby777

Jack Wolfe And His Music / Jack's New Music Group - Jack Wolfe And His Music / Jack's New Music Group as reviewed by bartleby777

March 26, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
I believe these (mono) recordings to be from the early to mid-70s, but they have a late 60's feel, with a solid and easy Motown drumbeat and a summery almost Bacharach flavour to some of the melodies, mostly served up by a small group, with a brass section of trumpets, sax and trombones. But mark my words, I'm only talking about the A side here, where A1 and A5 are the winners. (Btw: A1 also appears on Raphaele Records, and that also goes for many other tracks on the Mozart Editions series.) So, side A is the thing we need, and it reminds me a little of the Pierre Dutour Orch. and Jack Arel on the Chappell DMM series. Side B is a totally different story. It's supposed to be a happy and gay circus atmosphere, but becomes rather embarrassingly kitsch with a forced celebratory mood. It seems the circus came to a village in the Alps in the 1950's, with drunk locals hollering, handclaps, harmoniums and harmonicas and oom-pahs and polkas. It could have worked if the tunes and arrangements had been better and not so traditional, like the famous Doringo's Latin Doodle Band LP, which is a real hoot.
bartleby777

The Goody Gudera Band / The Raymond Hill Band / The Firebirds (9) - The Goody Gudera Band / The Raymond Hill Band / The Firebirds as reviewed by bartleby777

March 26, 2017
Some pleasant easy listening on this one, mostly old school big band music in fast or mid-tempo swing mood. RX.2932 (A10) has a nice multi-layered flute tune, and A3 is pretty nifty with some virtuoso clarinet-playing. Best tracks: A2, A3, A5, A6, A10, A14, A15.
dsyn2spin

Juicy "V" - Gunmen (Prophecy Reveal It) as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
This is actually a quite decent dancehall tracks. especially the dubs.
dsyn2spin

Muddy Face / Hormone (3) - Old School To New School / All People as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
A complete obscurity here. I think they might be west coast rapper & producer
not really sure though. The production is dope regardless. Sick and demented
bass-mental hip hop at it finest and roughest. all the mixes are tight.
good luck finding anothner 1
dsyn2spin

Aladin (2) - Boys, You Better Watch Your Girls / Bo Legged Women as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
Bow Legged Women has the illest rap for sure you must understand it to understand life
dsyn2spin

Secession - Touch as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
One of the best electro disco tracks from this group.
i must recommend it for you to have.
dsyn2spin

Naked In Paris - Caza as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
this two track are so fahkehn good and so hard tight for eliktro italo dikop
dsyn2spin

Team 3-B - Closer To You/ Machine Rap as reviewed by dsyn2spin

March 26, 2017
slept on dope ass electro jams in full effect here.
you must grip, or die, you fool.
capayne1980

Patty Loveless - If My Heart Had Windows as reviewed by capayne1980

March 25, 2017
I haven't heard the entire album, but I have heard the title song. It was originally recorded by George Jones in 1967, and was released as a single and on his album of the same name, in 1968. He had heard it and told her she can record any of his songs anytime she wanted.

Patty Loveless is married to Emery Gordy, a record producer who produced Vince Gill on When I Call Your Name.

She is a great singer and a beautiful lady.
CHRISIFIXION

Meth Mouth - Beats4Sale as reviewed by CHRISIFIXION

March 25, 2017
All four joints are mad nice and smooth, pretty mellow. Love the John Lennon sample in "No Heaven" and "YungDevil" is very tight. Hoping for more Beats By Meth in the near future!
DoctorAmigo

The Minders - Into The River as reviewed by DoctorAmigo

March 25, 2017
People who don't know Martyn Leaper, well I just don't know quite what to say to such people... A wonderful singer? A veteran songwriter capable of popping out hooks at will? A studio wizard with a golden ear?

On this, his first new album in ten years, he may have created his best album. Where his earlier records are unabashedly happy... well, these just aren't the times for that. It's a hard life, and this intimate batch of Leaper's songs are charming, sometimes heartbreaking, always impeccably crafted and never naive.

Arrangements are flush with perfect strings and horns that add to, and never overpower, his gorgeous pop tunes --the beautiful and plaintive "Summer Song," the stuttering rocker "Devil Doll," and the anthemic "It's Going to Break Out" are standouts, but really there are no low spots throughout.

"Into the River" is an eclectic labor of love from one of the most original voices in modern pop.
uzername

Disturd - Demo as reviewed by uzername

March 25, 2017
Early Disturd played energetic uk82 with pogopunk influence (except the first metallic track), I'm surprised.
No year on cover...
J.Aloha

Ministry - In Case You Didn't Feel Like Showing Up (Live) as reviewed by J.Aloha

March 25, 2017
Let me guess: scanned artwork, compressed digital sound and poly sleeve that are long worn-through at the sides when you open your copy?

Just checked a copy at a local record store: yes to all of the above. Another mediocre, slapdash pressing from MOV.
CHRISIFIXION

Meth Mouth - American Meth as reviewed by CHRISIFIXION

March 25, 2017
Classic EP release through Cousin Pat Records, featuring the debut Freewill anthem "Yao Mang" with Mage Mortician.
Production includes Sean Strange, Snowgoons & Knowshun.
CHRISIFIXION

Mage Mortician - The Mortician as reviewed by CHRISIFIXION

March 25, 2017
Mage does his thing man, crazy metaphors and punchlines.
Real rhyming right here.
retrocolnago

The Mouseketeers - We're The Mouseketeers as reviewed by retrocolnago

March 25, 2017
I have an Australian pressing of this. Can I add as an additional release?
carlocalvano

J-Majik* / Futurebound & Protocol - Infrastructure (The Remixes) as reviewed by carlocalvano

March 25, 2017
A y y y y y y y y that A side is hypnotic
MamboMadness

Conjunto Constanza - Conjunto Constanza as reviewed by MamboMadness

March 25, 2017
This was/is their debut release LP, y esta pa' comer!
mjb

Herb Alpert - Jump Street as reviewed by mjb

March 25, 2017
In this era, every time Herb Alpert put out an album, it was a "comeback". Here he is once again dabbling in dance music and calling it a new experiment.

The result this go-around, combining hip-hop with muted trumpet, is comparable to the sounds coming from the London acid jazz scene—yet inexplicably almost entirely devoid of funk, despite the inclusion of Yvonne De La Vega's slam poetry and the remix work by Streets Ahead.

The end result is quite vacuous and square, and would have been much better suited to an off-Broadway "street scene" type of stage show than as a commercial release for dance music DJs. On the other hand, this probably sold more copies than most acid jazz records, so what do I know?