mistercollector

Reale Accademia - Reale Accademia as reviewed by mistercollector

February 21, 2017
Opilec Music own the right of this album and soon will officially re-release it incl. also the unreleased instrumentals from the original mastertapes.
ifjthenu

Maxine Sullivan - Flow Gently, Sweet Rhythm as reviewed by ifjthenu

February 21, 2017
I love this record. On it Maxine Sullivan shows what made her work so memorable and beloved. She had a style all her own. Leonard Feather's reconstruction of the John Kirby band is excellent. I wish I could have heard the Kirby band live.
unruh2525

Conrad Schnitzler - Blau as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
It's weird. I went through a reasonably well-informed musical life, and how the hell the existence of someone like Conrad Schnitzler escaped me I have no idea. I knew my Krautrock and had a collection I was quite sure my collection was comprehensive. Somehow I just overlooked its greates practitioner and his 2,500 albums. I think Aphex Twin was listening - Bowie too - but they weren't talking. Con didn't give a flying f--- for publicity, so they got to appropriate a lot of his elements without risk of an embarrassing bust. He is a century ahead of his time, and I think he'll remain so a century from now. This is seriously bold, innovative and brilliant electronic music which is filled with surprises at every listen. Con died in 09, I believe, and I was as clueless as an azure sky of deepest summer. The King of Krautrock. I said it, I stand by it, and I don't like that term either but we're stuck with it.
unruh2525

Maëror Tri [...]* - Language Of Flames And Sound as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
Maeror Tri don't do hard rock. Let's just admit there are no illuminating words to describe what they do. I will say, I am an enormous fan, and especially like this disc. It's hardly Motörhead, but the songs are prominent and propulsive and get me up and going in the morning. I recommend this one highly. Then get all the rest.
unruh2525

The Legendary Pink Dots - Poppy Variations as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
There are no adequate words for me to use to describe how much I love the Dots. They're prolific, they write psychedelic, challenging, electronic music, the singer writes brilliant, sometimes hilarious lyrics, and can't pronounce the letter 'r'. Their output is staggering and consistent. So not only do your life savings go up in smoke but it's totally worth it. To me, these guys are just about the most fascinating and chillingly prophetic bands out there. Why they're not enormously popular is a scandal. Maybe it's that 'r' thing. To hell with that, it's endearing. So why write a review of this one ? I forgot. But it is one of their more pastoral releases. However the other day I was in a heated debate with a friend about the song 'Sister Ray' by the Velvets. I'm the kind oferson who WiLL argue about 'Sister Ray', if pushed to the wall. And there's a track on here, I believe the second to last Poppy Variations, which I would call the LPD's 'Sister Ray'. It is a noisy but very welcome beast. Enjoy in good health and sing while you may.
Bla1Bla2Bla3

Various - Cosmic Melodies as reviewed by Bla1Bla2Bla3

February 21, 2017
The Name from Number A4 is: Man And Woman
unruh2525

Maeror Tri - Peak Experience as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
Maeror Tri are rightly, if quite restrictively thrown into the overall 'ambient' pile. Well, they sound very little like 'Music For Airports' and even less like Kitaro ( he may be lumped in with New Age but let's not quibble). Call them whatever you like, their sound transports me to unexplored and colorful regions of my brain I never existed. Real magicians of sound. But this album was something of a surprise. This one had a much harsher, almost industrial vibe to it. Luckily I like that style too so I have no complaints. You just may be surprised by what you hear is all. In fact, they remind me of probably my favorite industrial group, Controlled Bleeding, on this. Live next town over from me. Nice guys. And I know their range is far wider than industrial, bt this was allegedly a review or Maeror Tri
unruh2525

Daniel Menche - The Face Of Vehemence as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
I do not know what this man is doing or attempting to accomplish. And that vexes me. So I intend to keep purchasing these discs stuffed with alien and sublime sounds until I figure it out. This one was a particularly sultry temptress
unruh2525

Sunburned Hand Of The Man - Jaybird as reviewed by unruh2525

February 21, 2017
This is going way back and my ears are often accused of subjectivity. But this reminds me a little of the great debut album by Mercury Rev 'Yrself Is Steam'
derekwhitman

Iron Maiden - The Number Of The Beast as reviewed by derekwhitman

February 21, 2017
So yeah this is better than average for a picture disc. Of course if you want the best quality get the original UK pressing for $65-100 (NM).
nostalgiatune

Abul Mogard - Works as reviewed by nostalgiatune

February 21, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
Best ambient I have heard for a while. It's a deepdive into dark, cold soundscapes with hidden spots of comfort. Dissociative stuff
guilala

So Much Hate - How We Feel as reviewed by guilala

February 21, 2017
I was totally blown away by this band when I heard their songs on the "Apathy...Never!" comp LP and couldn't wait to get this LP. well, I should have waited. the clean production/recording really took all the raw energy away from the bands sound, and the majority of the songs aren't that good. theres a couple decent moments, but in general, its a pretty lame record
guilala

Barn Av Regnbuen - Helter Og Skurker! as reviewed by guilala

February 21, 2017
a perfect HC record. if Confuse wrote tuneful songs with melody, it would probably sound like this. a total Masterpiece.
guilala

Skeezicks - Selling Out! as reviewed by guilala

February 21, 2017
pretty much defines the whole "Geek Core" thing from the late-80's . actually not a bad record, but when I had it the only song I would play repeatedly was "Fast/Loud" , which is a totally ripping HC Punk tune with a decent chugga-chugga intro/build up. sold my copy off in the late 90's, and have never had the desire to get another one. if I saw it in a budget bin, though, I doubt id buy it again. I just remember the rest of it being not so great tunes with production that was too slick for its own good. I did, however, find them to be fucking hilarious at times. very funny references throughout the record, and that picture on the insert with them posing under the Madonna spray paint banner in the design of the Metallica logo always cracked me the fuck up!!
guilala

Jump For Joy - Jump For Joy as reviewed by guilala

February 21, 2017
if I could give this record less than 1 star, I would have
Deus_Ex_Nox

John Williams (4) - Star Wars - Original Soundtrack From Episode IV - A New Hope as reviewed by Deus_Ex_Nox

February 21, 2017
Standard picture disc. There is a constant noise over the whole record and essentially no highs or lows. That said the art is gorgeous and for what it is the audio is clean. If you want it for the music look elsewhere. If this is a second copy or you just want it for the art and you can get it at a good price (I paid $12) then I'd say go for it. Standard picture disc sound quality with gorgeous art.
HooperBell

Dyscfunctional as reviewed by HooperBell

February 21, 2017
For anyone trying to find catalogue numbers Dysc 1 and Dysc 3: Dysc 1 is the Diary album "Got To Get In Love (By Tuesday)", which has never been re-issued, as far as I can tell. Dysc 3 was projected to be the Diary album "Growing Old And Absurd In East London" - this may or may not have been released, but it was subsequently re-issued by TRI (2), and is available at their website.
ericwjohnson

BadBadNotGood - BBNG2 as reviewed by ericwjohnson

February 21, 2017
edited about 4 hours ago
A funny thing about this weird vinyl pressing. I thought it sounded terrible and shelved it. But I came back to it. Again. It found itself on rotation at a late night party. I realized this is a very high fidelity recording - stunning really - on heavyweight vinyl. I think the artists knew about this "flawed recording" and either shrugged it off or it was intentional to begin with thus no reissue. The old school surface noise became an afterthought. If not re-released, the current price for this is justified. It may very well be a classic.
drewanderson

Moodymann - DJ Kicks as reviewed by drewanderson

February 21, 2017
edited about 4 hours ago
I had first listened to the 30 track digital mix of this which is excellent and has an amazing flow and mixed feel. The 18 track vinyl version may sound good, but they butchered this amazing mix. I was shocked when it arrived via shipment and said "18 tracks" on the cover. This is no longer a "mix" on vinyl, this is a burned by your friend mix-CD feel with each song fading out at the end. It defeats the entire purpose of a DJ kicks mix. I am baffled. It's entirely my fault, but I won't buy another DJ kicks vinyl edition again. The truth is I ordered this from another site and there was no tracklist provided. I assumed the full set. 30 tracks could easily fit across 6 sides of vinyl with only modest effect to the quality... this should be 4xLP.
IPM_AUS

IMPI - Impi as reviewed by IPM_AUS

February 21, 2017
edited about 4 hours ago
Though there's nothing on the labels to let the listener know, the two tracks are entirely different. The b-side (the version that runs foraround 6 minutes) is an instrumental remake of Kongos' "I'm Dreaming" from a year earlier. https://www.discogs.com/John-Kongos-Im-Dreaming/release/2920629
Kzummo

「newtype」 - Sim Earth™ Ultra気候 &「After Hours」 as reviewed by Kzummo

February 21, 2017
👌👌👌👌good stuff fam After Hours is my #1 favorite side👌👌👌👌
danielwetteroff

Cheech Marin - My Name Is Cheech The School Bus Driver as reviewed by danielwetteroff

February 21, 2017
One of my favorite childrens albums. It used to play on the local radio station when I was a kid in the 90s in St. Louis and I had no idea it was Cheech Marin until I was much older and sought out some of the songs. You can buy this digitally for cheap, I got lucky and found a copy on here without the cassettes or original case but with the booklet still for 5 bucks. If you have a kid I highly suggest this album to instill some bi-lingual comedy into their lives.
HooperBell

非常階段* - 蔵六の奇病 as reviewed by HooperBell

February 21, 2017
edited about 5 hours ago
The album that launched Jojo Hiroshige and co onto the world, and also the one group going active at the time that actually seemed to understand the whole Los Angeles Free Music Soclety aesthetic. Did any copies of the original release ever get exported outside Japan at the time?

Anyone who was a regular reader of the late "Bananafish" magazine will recall Jojo's interview with David Hopkins in one of the earlier issues. In this, he explained that following the release of this album (which he referred to as being called "Second Damascus"), a number of people connected to Hijokaidan passed away, including one then-current member. This freaked out all concerned, who believed that "Second Damascus" had become cursed. This lead them to taking the step of having the whole pressing run taken to a local temple to be blessed, and in doing so breaking the curse. Whether this actually happened or not, it does make for a good apocryphal story.
CykoMF

Billy May And His Orchestra - Hi-Fi Drums as reviewed by CykoMF

February 21, 2017
The sides of the 3 discs in this 'album' comprise to make up a 7" version of Hi-Fi Drums the LP version.
SecretRecords

The Exploited - Horror Epics. as reviewed by SecretRecords

February 21, 2017
Possibly the worst drum sound I've ever heard on an album.