aayushvarma18

The Buffalo Bunch - T.I.T.T.S. / Music Box as reviewed by aayushvarma18

July 27, 2016
You know you've got yourself a great combo when it's Play Paul and Raw Man together. Take It To The Streets was pretty much named for the double meaning of it's abbreviation. It's a good track but in the end, I guess what stands out the most is the introduction of the banging drums halfway through the track. The other side, we have Music Box, my favourite Crydamoure release. Le Knight Club made the brilliant move of making it the opening song of Waves I, and it is still one of the strongest beginnings to a DJ mix I've ever heard. The filtering on this was simply brilliant.
aayushvarma18

Le Knight Club - Boogie Shell / Coco Girlz / Mosquito / Coral Twist as reviewed by aayushvarma18

July 27, 2016
edited about 2 hours ago
The largest Crydamoure release with 4 songs, and it is brilliant as usual from Guy-Man & The Wizard. Boogie Shell is easily the top track in this record, with some very lush synths and great sampling of Sister Sledge's "You Fooled Around". Coco Girlz is a bit weak, and is too slow a track to be a banger. Great bassline though. Mosquito is repetitive as hell and unlike some other people who commented, I really enjoyed it. Fun fact - The bass for Mosquito was SAMPLED, and that too not from the main sample! To end it, we have Coral Twist, which was probably the worst track on Waves I, not because it's bad, but because LKC increased the tempo and pitch greatly, and it lost it's one strong point - the chillout factor. On the 12", it's another song to just relax to.
PurrfectMusic

Scarecrow - Black Door as reviewed by PurrfectMusic

July 27, 2016
A rarity in Oldschool Electro-Industrial music!

Get it while its hot!
aayushvarma18

Le Knight Club - Santa Claus / Holiday On Ice as reviewed by aayushvarma18

July 27, 2016
The record that began a legacy...Crydamoure is easily one of the greatest things to have happened to the French House scene. Santa Claus has an average beginning to it, and the beats just go on for a bit too long. But once the samples come in, you realize how brilliant a track this is. Next up on the Christmas themed record there is Holiday On Ice, which has the fair downtempo feel to it, and is more of a relaxing song. The bassline on this track IS AMAZING. Here's to the beginning of the best French house label! Peace & Love! <3
dominet.de

The Rasmus - Into as reviewed by dominet.de

July 27, 2016
The Rasmus made this album before they were famous. Some of the songs are really catchy and underestimated hits...
My favourites are "Chill", "Heartbreaker" & "F-F-F-Falling". This release should be in every serious Alternative Rock Collection :)
sleazymichael

Various - Travelling With Us as reviewed by sleazymichael

July 27, 2016
FLAWLESS! DELIGHTED WITH MY PURCHASE - GR8 VALUE - PROMPT DELIVERY - 5 STAR!!
sleazymichael

Various - Best Of 12 Inch Gold (Volume 13) as reviewed by sleazymichael

July 27, 2016
FLAWLESS! DELIGHTED WITH MY PURCHASE - GR8 VALUE - PROMPT DELIVERY - 5 STAR!!
blackswan1

Hilltop Hoods - Mic Felon as reviewed by blackswan1

July 27, 2016
yea pretty sure it was only 20 copies from what I have heard
libogodoi

SP 23 - Ep 23 No. 2 as reviewed by libogodoi

July 26, 2016
terrible spiral record with 3 good tracks,one very loung and one taken from catspit record !rare record,and a strange industrial acid track that only members of spiral tribe can do
libogodoi

SP 23 - Network 23 as reviewed by libogodoi

July 26, 2016
this is not the best record from the SP23 but we have two good tracks,one acid and logo face a good gabber track seems like rotterdam sounds with a bass sound
zen-dog

Uwandile - The Tie Breaker as reviewed by zen-dog

July 26, 2016
Looking for a copy. Anyone willing to sell, please send a message.
scoundrel

Solar X - Little Pretty Automatic as reviewed by scoundrel

July 26, 2016
IDM, Russian-style, from Solar X with his album LITTLE PRETTY AUTOMATIC. The deep tones of "Dasha 1,2,3,4..." soon give way to drill'n'bass, while "One Free Drink" is more familiar warm IDM, and "Bullet Gum" blends the two seamlessly, as does the string-laden "Shoot My Heart." Meanwhile, "Xiao Jie" samples some kung-fu Foley work and incorporates some Asian pentatonic tones, while "Net Camouflage" kicks off with some musique concrete before shifting into some echoing melodies. "Supertechno" roughs things back up, however, before the title track turns the mood more melancholy. "Made in Tula" carries this feel forward, injecting some mystery into the proceedings until "Green Cat" brings back the warmth as "3dpole" brings in the swirls. A baritone Russian vocal scrapes its way over the the delicate "Koroleva" and "Acid for Mama" closes the album, yes, with acid, but a thoughtful type of acid. Two of out three correct descriptors in the album title isn't bad!
Pinnell

Prince & The New Power Generation - Purple Palace as reviewed by Pinnell

July 26, 2016
edited about 8 hours ago
I was at this show - just received cd and it's an awful recording - sound like someone in the crowd recorded it on their analogue tape recorder - can barely hear prince's guitar and vocals. Disappointing to say the least
ventolin3

Solón Sirias Y Su Tinaja Brass* - Irazú / Cavita as reviewed by ventolin3

July 26, 2016
The rare and unusual incursion of Costa Rican music into Easy Listening territory.
izakteaz

NV - Let Me Do You as reviewed by izakteaz

July 26, 2016
I remember seeing the album cover in my house as a kid for a very long time bu the record was missing. I always thought it was quite scary. 20 years later Im record shopping and see it again. I took it for a spin and was quite surprised!! It's a really good track! Never seen any album of theirs released and have no other information about this rare one off group. Worth the purchase.
chucktownbaby

Lil Jinks* - Its All Over as reviewed by chucktownbaby

July 26, 2016
edited about 9 hours ago
THIS IS A CLASSIC CD.............TOP 5 BEST EVER IN NEW ORLEANS!!!!! IF YOU DONT LIKE THIS QUIT LISTENIN TO RAP MUSIC....ONE OF THE REALEST ALBUMS YOU COULD EVER INTRODUCE YOUR EARS TO...I WILL NEVER SELL THIS CD LOL
TheGuyWithSunglasses

Various - bblisss as reviewed by TheGuyWithSunglasses

July 26, 2016
edited about 10 hours ago
Best Release in 2 0 1 6. Stunning Music !!
https://bblisss.bandcamp.com/releases
Weareonenation303

Cathexis - Exempli Gratia as reviewed by Weareonenation303

July 26, 2016
"Manatee" is so worth the dirt cheap price this fetches at Discogs. Gorgeous ambient track.
rockchica

Jeff Beck - Loud Hailer as reviewed by rockchica

July 26, 2016
Great album, but this is different from any other Jeff Beck LP. Heavy on the beats.
4ibrecords

The New Blockaders & Creation Through Destruction - Negative Mass as reviewed by 4ibrecords

July 26, 2016
Review by Dark Entries: http://www.darkentries.be/nl/cd-s/the-new-blockaders-creation-through-destruction-negative-mass-12/

Deze dikke vinylplaat brengt ons een samenwerkingsverband tussen de Britse noise terroristen The New Blockaders, die toch wel een pioniersrol vervullen in de harsh noise scene en de Servische harsh noise wall act Creation Through Destruction (ook gekend als Dead Body Collection, waarvan we recentelijk nog de 7” Quite Unreachable Hell bespraken).
Een fusie die werkt, want de terreur van The New Blockaders die samen in de erlenmeyer gaat met de monotone, statische noise van Creation Through Destuction vormt een mengsel dat het beste uit de twee werelden weet te genereren tot een hoogst explosieve cocktail.
In beide tracks (‘Generation Of Matter’ op de A-kant, ‘Theory Of Everything’ op de B-kant) vormen de sonische nihilistische filosofie(*) van The New Blockaders en de donkere, sadistische psyche van Dr. Alex (Creation Through Destruction) de aanzet van deze sonische geweldpleging.
De muur van noise die twee tracks lang opgetrokken wordt fluit, piept en schuurt langs alle kanten, als drilboren die klinken als gekweld achtergrondgeschreeuw maken het nachtmerrieplaatje compleet. Het mag dan ook niet tot de verbazing spreken dat we ten stelligste aanraden deze 12” op een aanzienlijk luid volume af te spelen, kwestie van de “madmen” in jezelf voldoende voer tot ontwikkeling te geven. Anders dan de harsh noise wall releases die we doorgaans terugvonden op 4iB, zijn we erg te spreken over dit brute plaatje, en mogen de twee artiesten wat ons betreft nog eens vaker de handen in elkaar slaan.
(*) hierover lezen we terug in hun Manifesto (1982): "Blockade is resistance. It is our duty to blockade and induce others to blockade: Anti-music, anti-art, anti-books, anti-films, anti-communications. We will make anti-statements about anything and everything. We will make a point of being pointless... Everything about The New Blockaders entails refusal. The title of their collection Gesamtnichtswerk is important here. It reminds us of Wagner's dream of the 'total art work' -the Gesamtkunstwerk, but the art is replaced by nothing."
"Even Anti-art is art...That is why we reject it!"
scherben

TD5 (2) - Future Classics E.P. as reviewed by scherben

July 26, 2016
Environment Sensor: beautifully atmospheric, with a simple acid line, film(?) sample and vox repitition. For some reason, it [the intro] puts me in mind of a scientific research ship out in the middle of the ocean (that, or an alien planet).
rhoter

Thomas J. Valentino - Sound Effects Volume 25 as reviewed by rhoter

July 26, 2016
Can l listen to before buying so I can hear quality
matucana

Michael Rother - Süssherz Und Tiefenschärfe as reviewed by matucana

July 26, 2016
edited about 12 hours ago
This albums show all aspects of Michael Rother's work. "Süßherz" (Sweetheart) starts the album, and is in the vein of his first solo album "Flammende Herzen", some seemingly simple but intricate guitar work dominating. Next is "Tiefenschärfe" (Depth of focus), an unusual piece for a Michael Rother album, which brings back the magic of "Hallogallo" from the first Neu album, refined and reworked almost 15 years later, as DSTLR writes, almost a techno piece. The second side of the old vinyl is dominated by electronica. Somehow the typical guitar seems to be substituted mostly by synth sounds here."Glitzerglanz" (Glitter gloss) is once again almost sounding like a child's song, but too reduced and too complex at the same time. "Rapido" is one of Michael's most sequencer driven works, earcathing, with flat sounding but perfectly matching drums too, a hybrid between Pop, Berlin School, Electronica, and Techno. "Daisy" bring a lot of bell sounds, the weakest piece on the album. Finally "Blaues Licht" (Blue Light) brings synth sounds made on the guitar (proved by fret sounds), beatless, droney, dreamy, drawing the album to a close.
scoundrel

Baraki - Colony Laspberry as reviewed by scoundrel

July 26, 2016
On Baraki's only album, COLONY LASPBERRY, he brings some sparkling breaks to the table with "Rock'n Job," while "Departure" gets super-blippy. But, for textural contrast, "Koukakului" and "Wa Ton Yoni" approach from a more industrial angle initially, though both give way to something more melodic. "Boundary" seems to encompass Baraki's IDM aesthetic wholly: loud, clattering beats undergirding a more wistful melodic line. Baraki brings variations to this, of course: "Stick" emphasizes the warm chaos, while"Bandai" is more harsh, and "Tuning" shows off the softer side. A hint of dream-pop even sneaks onto "Whisper-2" and "Rem" stays more abstract. The title track closes the album with some mellow guitar and piano before the ambient nature takes over entirely. A little-known IDM gem here.
Risingson

Various - Global Connections Volume One: The Stealth Operatives as reviewed by Risingson

July 26, 2016
edited about 12 hours ago
Drum n bass is a very sneaky genre. It is so difficult to follow that all the mainstream music critics - and specialized ones - usually turn up with generalizations that are far from the truth and assumptions that are part of the past, and even fans find it very difficult to trace the trends, when some sounds started, when some ended. But no one can deny that the beginning of what was very successful around 2010-2011 with the Exit records compilations, the Consequence album, the Synkro tunes, "Nothing is Certain" from ASC and all that happened around dBridge has a clear milestone in this label of what then was called "atmospheric drum n bass". And these compilations show precisely that: as ASC is featured in most each one of them I can asume he had an important input in this label, and actually there is nothing wildly different of what was going to be released sometime later. It is a bit closer to the Good Looking Records final era, but if you take this and the Marcus Intalex DAT compilations you can see where the genre was going and how it was going to evolve.

Meanwhile, of course, the mainstream drum n bass sounds became more popular thanks to Chase&Status and similar producers and the bombastic sound was everywhere. And other things happened in Hospital Records. And Klute, Calibre, Paradox and same lone soldiers did their thing independently of each other. And many other things. Again: it is impossible to track drum n bass as a whole.