The name of the corporation has evolved over time as follows:
- From 1925 to 1959: Den Danske Statsradiofoni
- From 1959 to 1996: Danmarks Radio
- Since 1996: DR
Established in April 1925 as a one-year experiment, Den Danske Statsradiofoni became a permanent public service institution in April 1926 with a monopoly on radio broadcasting in Denmark. In October 1925, the first concert by Statsradiofoniens Symfoniorkester was broadcasted from a room at the Royal Telegraph Office at Købmagergade, Copenhagen. In 1926 the institution moved to Axelborg at Vesterbrogade. A boys choir, Statsradiofoniens Drengekor saw the light in 1929. By 1931 the sole radio channel was the most listened to in Europe and the institution moved to "Stærekassen" at Det Kongelige Teater. A girls choir, Statsradiofoniens Pigekor, was established in 1939. The following year, Radiohuset, Copenhagen was inaugurated and became the new headquarters from 1941. By 1943 the audience had grown to 750.000 registered households nationwide in Denmark. The concert hall Radiohusets Koncertsal was inaugurated in 1945. In 1951 a second radio channel Program 2 was established upon public demand and the same year regular broadcasting of television started. On 30 June 1959, Den Danske Statsradiofoni officially changed name to Danmarks Radio.