The Nomads (2) / Donovan's Brain ‎– The Nomads Vs. Donovan's Brain

$10.00 + $5.00 shipping

Career Records ‎– CED-45-2235
Vinyl, 7", 45 RPM, EP, Red
Garage Rock, Psychedelic Rock


A1 The Nomads (2) No Cops, Haul Ass
Bass – Björne FröbergDrums – Joakim Werning*Guitar – Hans Östlund, Nick Vahlberg, Richard Treece, Ron SanchezWritten-By – Sanchez*
B1 Donovan's Brain Bread Man Burning
Bass – Tom Stevens (2)Drums – Ric ParnellGuitar, Vocals – Scott SutherlandLead Guitar – Deniz TekVocals, Guitar, Organ, Piano – Ron SanchezWritten-By – Sanchez*
B2 Donovan's Brain Snow In Miami
Bass – Kels KochDrums – Seth LyonGuitar – Richard TreeceGuitar, Organ – Ron SanchezWritten-By – Kehoe*



This is a collaboration that has been sitting in the cellar for many years waiting to be sampled. In 1999 the Nomads booked a day off on their tour to visit Donovan's Brain in Bozeman. The Brain were in the middle of the sessions for Tiny Crustacean Light Show and Great Leap Forward. Richard Treece was in town as well. The Nomads were offered an unreleased Donovan's Brain instrumental No Cops Haul Ass which they came prepared to record. Also cut were the the title track for Tiny Crust and the B-side version of Top Alcohol. No Cops was dusted off and given a fresh mix for this EP. it had earlier been heard on the sound track for the obscure ski film 99 Sense. Ron Sanchez and Richard Treece were invited to add even more guitars to this high desert hot-rod tune. The four guitar players weave a dangerous tale of speed and beer.

One of the two Donovan's Brain tracks is also from the same 98-99 period. Jim Kehoe's (Snow In) Miami never got a final vocal. In 2010 it was revised for the Bridger Bowl Ski Film Of The Day. If your are starting to get the feeling these songs might be about going downhill fast, you are correct. 100 seconds of terror as your flight plunges into a Florida swamp.

From the new stack comes Bread Man Burning. This true story about a baker who ended up burnt toast was recorded in the early stages of the Turned Up Later sessions but set aside for a future single release. New boys Scott Sutherland and Tom Stevens helped complete this number for this EP. That would be Deniz Tek on the ripping guitar.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 711574781676
  • Matrix / Runout: Side A: LET'S SMOKE 10360-1A CED-45-2235
  • Matrix / Runout: Side B: HE'S TOAST 10360-1B CED-45-2235

Seller Terms

- Buyer is responsible for all Customs and Taxes
- If the actual shipping costs are lower than what Discogs calculates, we will refund the difference to your PayPal account
- All Career Records Releases are sold brand new and sealed
- If you have a problem with any purchase, please contact us and we will resolve the issue

$10.00 + $5.00 shipping