Big Brother & The Holding Company ‎– Cheap Thrills

€40.00 + €21.00 shipping
(about $67.78 total)

Add to Cart Make Offer
Columbia ‎– KCS 9700
Vinyl, LP, Album, Terre Haute
12 Aug 1968
Folk Rock, Blues Rock, Psychedelic Rock


A1 Combination Of The Two
Lead Guitar – James*Vocals – Sam*Written-By – S. Andrew*
A2 I Need A Man To Love
Lead Guitar – Sam*Written-By – J. Joplin*, S. Andrew*
A3 Summertime
Arranged By [Arr.] – S. Andrew*Written-By – D. Heyward*, G. Gershwin*
A4 Piece Of My Heart
Lead Guitar – Sam*Written-By – Bert Berns, Jerry Ragovoy
B1 Turtle Blues
Guitar – Peter*Piano – John SimonWritten-By – J. Joplin*
B2 Oh, Sweet Mary
Lead Guitar – Peter A.*Vocals – Sam A.*Written-By – J. Joplin*, P. Albin*
B3 Ball And Chain
Lead Guitar – James*Written-By – "Big Mama" Thornton*

Companies, etc.



Terre Haute pressing variant of the original US release,
as indicated by a "T" etched in the runout areas.

Released in a Gatefold cover on a red "360 sound" label with white lettering.

Although Janis Joplin has a release-wide vocal credit (and indeed sings on every song), on the individual song credits, only 'Sam' is credited for vocals on Tracks A1 and B2.

Track A3 is incorrectly credited to Gershwin Bros. on the front cover, though the label correctly credits George Gershwin and DuBose Heyward.

Track B3 is credited to W. M. Thornton on the label, and "Big Mama" Thornton on the front cover.

Live material recorded at Bill Graham's Fillmore Auditorium (tracks A1, A2 & B3). Turtle Blues "Vibes" courtesy of Barney's Beanery. Approved By Hell's Angels Frisco

Tracks A1 to A3, B1, B2 published by ASCAP. Tracks A4 and B3 published by BMI.

Stereo "360 Sound". Manufactured by Columbia Records/CBS, Inc. Litho in USA. Printed in USA. Rear cover photo © Thomas Weir 1967.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side A): XSM 137375
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side B): XSM 137376
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 1)): o XSM 137375 -1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 1)): o XSM 137376 -1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 2)): XSM137375 -1D
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 2)): XSM137376 -1A
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 3)): XSM 137375-1B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 3)): XSM137376-1D
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 4)): o XSM137375-1E
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 4)): o XSM137376-1E
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A Stamped (Variant 5)): o XSM 137375 -1D T F2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B Etched (Variant 5)): T o XSM 137376 -1A A2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 6)): o XSM 137375 -1C (etched)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 6)): XSM 137375 -1F (stamped)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 7)): o XSM 137375 -1C (etched)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 7)): o XSM137376-1E (stamped)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side A (Variant 8) stamped, (T C1) etched ): o XSM 137375-1D T C1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Side B (Variant 8) etched): o XSM 137376-1A 1 Λ/C 3 T

Seller Terms

Automatic Cancellation Policy: Orders will be cancelled if payment is not received within 7 days.
All items are carefully visually graded under a strong halogen light , than please ask to check for a playgraded feedback when there is interest in one or more than one lp , i will clean and listen to the item after your request if not done already .
I use an Ultrasonic Cleaning Audiodesk machine.
I use "GOLDMINE" standards as starting point and then give an upgrade to
make the best possible work before to sell any record

If any buyer would be not satisfied after a deal i ensure full refund after record beying back to me, my deal is your deal.

€40.00 + €21.00 shipping
(about $67.78 total)

Add to Cart Make Offer