vidnaObmana* ‎– Spore

Release Entertainment ‎– RR6561-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Through The Collective Pain 3:37
2 The Humanity Underneath
Double Bass, Strings – Joris De Backer
3 Skin Strip 8:46
4 Duality Of Passion 5:38
5 Beyond The Shaman 5:57
6 The Nihilist 7:48
7 Creep - Isolation Trip 11:12
8 Spore 5:35
9 Resonant Gore
Double Bass, Strings – Joris De BackerTrumpet – Marc Verhaeghen

Companies, etc.


  • Composed By [Constructed By], Performer [Performed By], Sounds [Atmospheres, Rhythms], Flute [Various Fujara's, Overtone Flutes], Percussion, Pipe [Dreampipe], Effects [Recycling & Abstract Mutations], Voice [Voices], Electric Guitar, E-Bow [Ebow Harmonics]vidnaObmana*
  • DesignJonathan Canady
  • Photography ByMartina Verhoeven


Recorded & mixed at the Serenity Studio, Belgium between September 2001 & June 2002.
Isolation Trip: original 7" vinyl version released on Klanggalerie, Austria in 2002.
Mastered at Sonare, Belgium.

Note: All extreme high and low frequencies, feedback and dissonant harmonies are intentional and part of the composition. Please handle the playback of this CD with care while most effect is gained at a medium volume on headphones.

℗&© 2003 Relapse Records, Inc.

Packaging: Transparent tray jewel case with a 6-panel fold-out booklet.
Total time: 73'43"

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 81676 65612 7
  • Matrix / Runout: 48948AM-01 RLP-6561 020711-21

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none vidnaObmana* Spore(CD, Album, Ltd, Unofficial) Limited Edition (6) none Russia 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 12, 2004

Spore is the second disc in Vidna Obmana's (Dirk Serries) trilogy based on Dante's -Inferno. This is also quite a departure for Serries. He uses quite an array of eclectic devices to create this experimental -- almost avant-garde -- album. The most interesting sounds are from the overtone flutes and fujaras. Serries has commented that this is not an ambient CD. That is correct. This CD is interesting enough to be the focus of deep listening. It is not innocuous enough to be ignored as background music. It demands attention. The rhythms and atmospheres complement each other smoothly. The experimental sounds are neither dominant nor dominated. This disc is certainly electronic, definitely experimental, and decidedly Vidna Obmana.